Celebrity Team Penning

The Kentucky Horse Park Foundation is proud to present the 2016 KHPF Battle in the Saddle Celebrity Team Penning Event. This exciting event pairs two amateur riders with a celebrity guest rider on each team. Teams will compete against each other to determine who has the skills and bravery needed to pen a group of cattle in the quickest time. And all of this fun is in the name of charity – to raise funds for the Kentucky Horse Park!

On Friday, September 30, 2016, the Covered Arena at the Kentucky Horse Park will open its doors to the public for this raucously fun team penning event. The 2016 Battle in the Saddle will include for our sponsors and their guests a cocktail hour and catered dinner, VIP tickets to watch the fun, and even the opportunity to cheer on your own hand-picked team of competitors. Supporting your favorite team through the Calcutta auction before the competition will add to the excitement of the evening, along with the highly anticipated after party!

The Battle in the Saddle will also include a “Farm Team Challenge,” a friendly competition between participating riders representing area horse farms. In addition to the special grand prize awarded to the overall winning team members during the competition, a special horse farm challenge award will be made to the horse-farm team with the best time of the night.

2016 Sponsorship

The Kentucky Horse Park Foundation is seeking partners to sponsor the 2016 Battle in the Saddle. Sponsors will enjoy the opportunity to network with our guests and celebrities and invite their own clients and colleagues to share in the thrill of this unique competition - all in a relaxed and fun-filled environment. To sponsor a team, register to be a rider, or reserve a vendor space, please contact the foundation office at 859-255-5727 or email laura.klumb@khpfoundation.org.

2016 Sponsorship Packet

Event Schedule

5:00 pm Doors and Vendor Fair open
6:00 pm Dinner & Calcutta auction
7:30 pm Battle in the Saddle competition
* “Dancing in the Dirt” After Party immediately following awards ceremony


General Admission $10 at the door
Kids under 12 get in free (with purchase of adult ticket)
VIP Dinner tickets $75/person

2015 Celebrities in the Saddle (subject to change)

Marvin Bartlett - Anchor, Fox 56
Jane K. Beshear - First Lady of Kentucky
Hattie Claire - All American Cowgirl Chick
P.J. Cooksey - Award Winning Jockey
Pat Day - Award Winning Jockey
Lee K. Howard - WKYT Sports Anchor
Bobby Knight - 2015 Road to the Horse Participant
Sadie Lynn - All American Cowgirl Chick
Mal McGuire - Reigning horse trainer
Bill Meck - WLEX Chief Meteorologist
Sean Moody - WKYT Reporter
Jason Myers - WTVQ Chief Meteorologist
Rosie Napravnik - Award Winning Jockey
Andre Pater - Painter/Artist
Kristen Pflum - WLEX Anchor
Stephanie Quayle - Nashville country singer
DeAnn Stephens - 98.1 The Bull Morning Show Co-host/WKYT Reporter
Otto Thorwarth - Jockey/Secretariat movie actor
And More!

Team Penning Photos From Past Years

2015 Photos Part 1
2015 Photos Part 2
2015 Photos Part 3
2015 Photos Part 4
2015 Photos Part 5
2015 Photos Part 6
2015 Photos Part 7
2015 Photos Part 8
2014 Photos Part I
2014 Photos Part II
2013 Photos

Team Penning Results

Click here to view the 2015 Team Penning Results!

2015 sponsors!

Presenting Sponsor:

Championship Sponsors:

Supporting Sponsors:

Team Sponsors:

Event Sponsors:

Prize Sponsors:

Door Prize Sponsors: